Give Me A Job Working from Home!

Posted on March 9, 2011

6


I found a site that lists a whole lot of work-at-home (WAH) jobs that are always hiring. It’s called The Work at Home Woman, however, you don’t have to be a WAH woman to use the site.

In the list, you’ll find a variety of WAH jobs, such as call center agents, WAH assistants, editing jobs, giving expert advice, mystery shopping, Internet research and others.

My Call Center Experience

Around 3 years ago, I worked for a few months as a part-time WAH call center agent rep for Convergys and did another short stint with another company to supplement my writing income. Depending on the size of your hard drive and speed of your processor, you could write between taking calls. I toggled between taking incoming calls in the company’s system and writing on my own desktop on very slow nights. I was working the graveyard shift, though, and it was often somewhat slow.

My Mystery Shopper Experience

I also picked a couple of mystery shopper assignments around that time, since I was going to be shopping near the assigned shops anyway. Honestly, it was kind of a hassle. I had to buy an item out-of-pocket, wait at least an hour, then return it. I, then, had to write up a very, very, very … very, very … very detailed description of my shopping experience, scan it and input it into the system — all to put only $20 in my pocket … 30 days or more later.

If you’re going to do mystery shopping, accept restaurant assignments — they are typically easier.

WAH / Write on the Side

Some of these WAH jobs can work into full-time and you can do writing on the side if you prefer. I have a friend who does this. She works as a WAH nurse for life insurance companies. They assign her people to visit in their homes where she takes their initial vital information for insurance consideration. She makes over $50,000 annually for about 30 hours or less of work a week, and the supplemental writing income boosts her $50k income even more.

Speaking of WAH nursing jobs, I want to add one company that is not on the list. Gentiva is always posting ads across the country for WAH nurses, therapists and managers. I understand it is a very good company for which to work, and it provides quality health care and benefits.

Depending on your area(s) of expertise and the position in which you are interested, you could make a significant income combining a work-from-home job with your WAH writing job(s).

Anyone knowledgeable about the companies included on the WAH list?

