Goal Setting — Visualizing Your Goals

Posted on January 31, 2011

2


One thing I’ve done to achieve certain things in life is to find visuals of my goals. It reminds me of them and keeps them alive for me, until I finally achieve them. When I first put together my home office several years ago, I found pictures of material things I wanted to accumulate in life. I also found some pictures of who I wanted to become — wealthy entrepreneur and accomplished writer.

Some were short-term goals and relative to my home office. Others are long-term goals that I have yet to achieve. My point is that visualizing goals you want to achieve in life makes your goals more palpable, more tangible.

When you see something over and over and over again, you tend to believe it more than if you don’t have a live visual of it.

I clipped out pictures from magazines, catalogs and newspapers. You may find other sources for your pictures. If you desire to be wealthy and affluent, pick pictures of the car and home you want to obtain in the future or the professional you want to be.

Short-term goals are just as important as long-term goals, so obtain pictures of both.

I have a cork board where I post pictures of items I desire to have. I still don’t possess some of these, but the pictures remind me that I will at some point in the future.

Some may have all the material possessions anyone could ask for, so your goals might be to find a comparable spouse and have a family, or you may have other aspirations.

Whatever it is you want to achieve or become in life, find pictures that reflect those achievements and post them in a prominent place in your home office. Your refrigerator is another place to post certain hoped-for achievements.

It may take some very little time to obtain these things and others much longer. Regardless, the pictures will remind you that you can and will obtain these or achieve them at some point in the future.

What do you do to achieve certain things in life or arrive at certain goals?

Posted in: Goal Setting