Journaling

Posted on January 2, 2011

2


Journaling is a fantastic therapeutic habit to acquire. It can literally change the way you live or view life. My Therapy Journal touts its many benefits and contributions to spiritual, psychological and physical well-being, and they cite some exceptional sources and research to back it up.

Some people don’t understand the art of journaling or how to do it. You don’t have to buy a notebook to start your journal. You can start by using a word processing software or even keep a running journal in your email. I sometimes do this when I’m short on time, but my favorite way to journal is using a physical journal. I have journaled since 1990. I finally bought a nice leather-bound journal and buy refills as I fill it up.

Journaling is similar to keeping a diary; although, a diary is more like something children, especially little girls, do as they grow up. Journaling is much deeper in its purpose and content. When you journal, you write down what you’re experiencing at the time. You write down life’s events, progress you’ve achieved, milestones in your business or personal life and other critical aspects of your life. You also include all the details as to how you arrived at each Advent in life.

You can include the weather or color you painted the kitchen, but you usually want to record why you’re noting the weather or painting the kitchen. Was there a tornado that came through your town and left carnage in its wake, or did you just buy a new house, so you painted the kitchen to make it your own. You may also have painted your kitchen on a whim, because you were tired of the old and you needed something to jump-start a sense of newness in your life.

Journaling has the same root word as “journey.” When you journal, you write about notable aspects of your life’s journey. Not everyone has the discipline to do it; although, it is something everyone can do and everyone should do. You don’t have to journal every day. I used to journal almost every day, but now I sometimes don’t journal but twice a month; although, I try to do it more often as I have time. After years of journaling, I recognize the most important critical times to add content to my journal.

Journaling has a wonderful way of reminding you where you came from and how far you’ve come, showing you where you are at the present time and providing a peek into where you’re going in the future. I believe it also changes the way you live life in that it makes you live more purposefully, with greater intent. That kind of living makes achieving goals more tangible and helps raise the bar for new goals in your life. That’s been my experience and the experience of others who journal.

Journaling makes you more aware of life and living. It makes you stand up and take notice of things you wouldn’t have, otherwise. It adds color to a black-and-white situation and detail to nondescript circumstances. I believe it adds more meaning and purpose to life.

If you aren’t already journaling, you should begin doing it now!

Sherry

