Long Distance Calling — SKYPE and Magic Jack

Posted on January 1, 2011

0


Working from home usually requires occasional long-distance calling, if not a lot of it. One aspect of working from home I’ve found interesting is that I’ve gained a lot of international friends and several clients through social networking.

I use Magic Jack for unlimited long-distance calling in the U.S. and Canada, but use SKYPE for long-distance calls elsewhere. I worked for a company in Holland and SKYPE was the only calling application they used to communicate with me.

Some customers need to hear the voice of the writer working for them; others do not. For those that need it, Magic Jack and SKYPE are great tools for long-distance calling.

You can download and use SKYPE for free when calling other SKYPE users anywhere in the world. You can also make SKYPE to land-line or SKYPE to mobile calls, but it will cost you. You may also want to invest in an inexpensive USB headset. I’ve found that the sound is clearer using a USB headset when communicating via SKYPE, instead of using my computer’s microphone.

It’s $39.95 to buy Magic Jack and the cost includes the first year’s service. You only pay $19.95 annually after that. I even use Magic Jack for faxing, but it was kind of tricky figuring out how to make it work.

Even though I pay for 12 Mb download/756 Kb upload speeds from my local phone service provider, I had to adjust my fax machine to send in the lowest speed possible before I could successfully fax something.

I know there are other products out there, so you don’t have to use either of these. It would be prudent, however, to download or buy inexpensive long-distance products that will enable you to be prepared for your future business growth.

Doing this may actually create more business possibilities. Anyway, they are great tools even if you only want to keep in touch with friends and relatives.

Looking out for you …

Sherry Zander

